Ramosch

 

Ramosch in the Lower Engadine has an altitude of 1’230meters above sea level and is situated admidst an idyllic and peaceful landscape, framed by a stunning mountain scenery. It is one of the places with the lowest annual average of rainfall in Switzerland and in summer it is known as the warmest place of the Engadine. The mild climate and good soil conditions once made Ramosch and the higher located village Vnà to the “granary” of the Engadine. On the slopes around Ramosch the stepped terraces witnesses of these former fields.

In the 6th Century, the first Christian church of the valley was located in the village, from which evolved the Christian community of the Engadine. The Florinus church in Ramosch is after the church of St. Martin in Chur the second largest Protestant church in this canton. Formerly she served as a sanctuary to people which on their ​​pilgrimages for the legend of Florinus, who had been the pastor in Ramosch in the seventh century and worked miracles. The village was hit by two devastating fires in 1881 and 1883, only the house, two other buildings and the Church were spared.
The medieval castle ruin Tschanüff is the second spot of cultural importance in Ramosch. It is located 200 meters from Schilana 80 on top of a hill, which is also known for its special flora. The ruin is the starting point of the trekking trail to the Sinestra Valley.

The Engadine has always been a destination of a special aura. Many writers and artists – among them also Friedrich Nietzsche  – found their “font of inspiration” in this region: A mountain landscape speckled with silent lakes, remote, rugged valleys, and authentic villages whose residents still speak an ancient, isolated language – Romansh. A perfect setting for a relaxing holiday at your own pace.

Ramosch

 

Ramosch und Umgebung Schilana 80

 

Ramosch im Unterengadin liegt auf 1’230 Metern über dem Meeresspiegel inmitten einer malerischen Landschaft und eingerahmt von einer eindrucksvollen Bergkulisse.  Als einer der regenärmsten Orte der Schweiz gilt es im Sommer als wärmstes Dorf im Engadin. Das milde Klima und die guten Bodenverhältnisse machten Ramosch und das höher gelegene Vnà einst zur „Kornkammer“ des Engadins. An den Hängen um Ramosch zeugen die Stufenterrassen der einstigen Äcker noch davon.

Im Dorf befand sich im 6. Jahrhundert die erste christliche Kirche des Tals, von wo sich die christliche Gemeinde des Engadins entwickelte. Die Florinuskirche ist nach der Churer Martinskirche die zweitgrösste reformierte Kirche im Kanton. Früher diente sie als Wallfahrtskirche, zu der die Menschen wegen der Legende von Florinus pilgerten, der im siebten Jahrhundert Pfarrer des kleinen Ortes gewesen war und Wunder wirkte. Das Dorf wurde 1881 und 1883 von zwei verheerenden Bränden heimgesucht, von denen lediglich das Haus und zwei weitere Gebäude sowie die Kirche verschont blieben.
Die mittelalterliche Bergruine Tschanüff ist die zweite Sehenswürdigkeit und liegt 200 Meter vom Haus entfernt auf einem Berghügel, der auch für seine Flora bekannt ist. Von hier aus startet man auch für eine Wanderung in das Val Sinestra.

Das Engadin ist seit jeher eine besondere Destination. Viele Schriftsteller und Künstler – unter anderen Friedrich Nietzsche – haben hier ihre Inspirationsquelle gefunden und auch heute bietet die von Seen, Weideland und verwinkelten Seitentälern geprägte Region mit ihren authentisch gebliebenen, kleinen Orten den perfekten Rahmen für einen Urlaub im Zeichen der Entschleunigung, der Muße und der wohligen Entspannung.

Weitere Informationen zu Ramosch: hier!